just Jessika

So I promised I’d write.

The problem is that it’s really hard to find the time when there’s so much to see and explore.


It’s even harder when you’re with people.

When you’re with people you actually should talk to them. It’s kinda rude if you don’t. Just saying…


At any rate, I’m super back-logged with our Macs do IT trip, not to mention the Greekation Ryan and I had on our own in Corfu… So I’m making an executive decision: Pass. At least for now…

It’s just that the words and thoughts keep flying in my head like pigeons in a piazza. Things I want to say, things I’m learning and experiencing on my own. And if I try to eek it all out in chronological order the thoughts will all just fly away.

Phew.

Glad I got that off my chest.

So. Yeah. It’s just me now.

Literally just Jessika.


Traveling solo is an interesting thing.

I don’t consider myself exceptionally brave. Independent? Sure. But brave seems to up the ante quite a bit.

And yet when I told people of my plan they’d look at me with eyes that resembled that one emoji (I know you know which one I’m talking about…) as if I were planning on, I don’t know… choose your most dramatic analogy: walk a tight-rope, swim with piranhas, stroll naked through Times Square. You get the picture.

And the next thing I’d hear was something like, “Wow. That’s really brave of you. I could never do that.”


At first I thought everyone was overreacting. I mean come on people! It’s 2016! Women have been doing this forever. Okay maybe not forever, but the solo female traveler is not a novel concept by any means.

And yet, now that I’m in it, now that I’m doing it, I will concede that it does require a measure of bravery. To make restaurant reservations for one – yes. It’s just me. To navigate train stations and airports alone. To just be. by. your. self.

Solitude can be so utterly uncomfortable.


BUT…

I whole heartedly believe that anyone, any woman, can do this. Should do this.

To push your boundaries. To say goodbye (at least for an hour or two) to your comfort zone. To be okay with yourself. Just yourself. Just as you are. To realize you are not an island – people are important and relationships need to be invested in and cherished.


And to realize that you’re actually never really alone. God is always with you, and with Him nothing is impossible. Even solo travel.

I’m not going to try and write this chronologically.

I’m just going to write.

Thanks for reading.

The adventure continues!

just Jessika


Oh and if you want to stay up to date with all I’m up to, follow me on Instagram @sikaspock – or #SikasSoloAdventure

2 thoughts on “just Jessika

  1. Corene says:

    Great pics Jessika! And I love that you are going on this adventure!!! Thanks for sharing your thoughts with us. Look forward to hearing more. Safe travels!!

  2. Sandy Johnson says:

    Keep on Keep On!!! Love your musings and pictures!! Thoroughly enjoying the journey!!

    Keep Safe !! Have Fun!!! and PS. You are Brave!!! You Go Girl!!!!

Leave a Reply

